Don’t Get Fooled by Phony Domain Renewal Notices

by Shashi Bellamkonda on July 9, 2009

Subscribe

Categories : Swami Speaks



An unscrupulous company or companies, going by several names like Domain Renewal Group, Domain Registry of America, and Liberty Names of America, has been sending out “notices” to unwary domain customers, trying to gain control of their domains.  The mailings are labeled “Domain Name Expiration Notices”, yet they have no affiliation with the domain name holder or the actual registrar of record.  Many consumers are confused by the notices thinking that they are legitimate renewal notices from their registrars, when, in fact, they are deceptive attempts to transfer the domains.

It is apparent that they are mining the domain WHOIS system to get the contact information and expiration dates for these domains, in what appears to be a clear violation of WHOIS policy.  They also risk running afoul of the Federal Trade Commission, which has been kept up to date of their activity.

Customers are advised to log into their accounts at Network Solutions to check the status of their domains and to renew if needed.  And put this kind of correspondence where it belongs, thrown out with the trash.

Share and Enjoy:
  • Technorati
  • Digg
  • Reddit
  • Google Bookmarks
  • Facebook
  • Propeller
  • StumbleUpon
  • Slashdot
  • del.icio.us
  • Netvouz

Brought to you by Network Solutions®

  • Peter
    I have been duped by LNOA. What steps should I take to transfer my domain name safely and securely to Network Solutions? I have heard that LNOA does not answer emails and does not unlock domain names. Any help would be appreciated.
  • this is good to know because soon i am going to register my own domain
  • Frank C. Tannehill
    These guys do have good ideas. We should give credit where credit is dew. It's just a shame they don't concentrate their energy into making an honest buck. I'm not surprised that many people got fooled because most of them realized their domains were just about to expire and receiving such an email is very credible in such a situation. I think I could have been fooled as well. Thank you for writing this post and making us aware of this scam.
    _______________
    Frank C. Tannehill
    domain name
blog comments powered by Disqus